Seal of Dane County County of Dane
County Executive's Office

Dane County Cultural Affairs Commission Announces 2016 Art Poster

May 03, 2016
Stephanie Miller 608-267-8823
County Executive

             Will Hold Unveiling May 16 at University Club


MADISON- Today the Dane County Cultural Affairs Commission announced that the 2016 Dane County Art Poster is now available at locations throughout Dane County. This year’s theme, “Everything You Never Expected…in Dane County”, is represented in Hide N’ Seek created by Dane County resident and nationally recognized artist, Judy Patenaude. Drop-boxes for donations are at each location.


The Cultural Affairs Commission will host a reception at the UW-Madison University Club on the evening of Monday, May 16 from 5:30 – 7:30 pm. The reception will honor the 2016 poster artist. Attendees will include Dane County Executive Joe Parisi, poster artist Judy Patenaude, Cultural Affairs Commission members and community participants.  Appetizers, music, and a cash bar will be available.


As an ongoing tradition, the Commission’s fine art poster helps keep our community engaged with the arts, ideally with citizens collecting each one and proudly displaying them year after year.


“Like many Dane County residents, I look forward to this time of year when the Cultural Affairs Commission presents exceptional artwork from a local artist.  Dane County has so much to offer our residents. Our booming arts scene is one of the many reasons people love living in Dane County,” said Dane County Executive Joe Parisi.


Commission Director Mark Fraire remarked, “The Dane County art poster is but one visible effort to showcase the arts on display in Dane County, and I am so grateful to Alliant Energy who helps to make the poster possible. It is just this kind of private to public partnership that can help continue to drive our economic growth.”


Judy Patenaude enjoyed a 30-year professional career as a Graphic Designer/Illustrator at the WI Historical Society.  While raising her family in Mt. Horeb and working full-time, she dedicated many years to community arts organizing.  Ms. Patenaude founded the Mt. Horeb Art Fair, now in its 45th year. In the 1990s, she co-founded the Mt. Horeb Area Arts Council, still active today under the of the Mt. Horeb Chamber of Commerce. Former Dane County Cultural Affairs Director, Lynn Eich was a key supporter during the startup of both organizations. Without her counsel neither organization would have been sustainable. Ms. Patenaude earned a BS (emphasis in Graphics) from the UW-Madison. Upon retiring from her professional arts job, Judy now focuses on creating watercolor and mixed media art.  Her December 2014 one-person show in the Ballweg Gallery, Goodman Community Center was highly successful.  Judy is a member of WRAA (WI Regional Artists Association); a participant in WRAP (WI Regional Arts Programs); and a winner of a State Award in 2015 and an Honorable Mention in 2016.  In 2014, her artwork was published in the Midwest Prairie Review and Madison’s Eastside News. Since 2013, her artwork has been displayed in several galleries around the state.


Distribution Locations


The 2016 art poster is available to the public by voluntary donation at locations throughout Dane County as follows:

  1. Cultural Affairs Commission Office, Room 421, City-County Building, 210 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Madison, between the hours of 8:00am and 4:30pm Monday through Friday.

  2. Four Dane County framing shops are serving as poster distribution sites and in partnership with the Commission offering custom framing discounts for this year’s art poster:  Monroe Street Framing, Douglas Art & Framing, and Megan’s Custom Framing in Madison, and Meuer Art & Picture Frame Company in Middleton.

Starting on May 23rd, poster distribution sites include the city halls of Fitchburg, Middleton, Monona, Stoughton, Sun Prairie, and Verona; the village halls of Belleville, Cambridge, Cottage Grove, Deerfield, Marshall, Mazomanie, McFarland, Mount Horeb, Shorewood Hills, and Waunakee, and the town halls of Blooming Grove, Dunn, Dunkirk, Middleton, Springfield, Sun Prairie, and Westport

Back to Press Releases