Seal of Dane County County of Dane
County Executive's Office

Dane Arts Launches 2016 Calendar: The Shining Lights

October 22, 2015
Media Contact: Stephanie Miller, 608-267-8823 Dane Arts Contact: Mark Fraire, 608-266-5915
County Executive

The Dane County Cultural Affairs Commission, Dane Arts, unveils its 2016 desktop art calendar, The Shining Lights, at a free public reception honoring fourteen local artists on Monday, October 26, from 5:30 PM – 7:00 PM, at Hallman Lindsay Paints, 1717 North Bristol Street, Sun Prairie. The reception introduces the 17th annual art calendar and will feature:  mural painting with lead artists from the new county-wide initiative, Dane Arts Mural Arts (DAMA) program, music, and a sneak peek behind the scenes to the process of making paint in the Hallman-Lindsay plant.

“Every day we are reminded of how much Dane County has to offer our residents and visitors – from exciting urban life, to world-renowned agriculture, to our lakes and natural spaces,” said Dane County Executive Joe Parisi. “The local artists who contribute to the county’s art calendar each year are a testament to yet another of Dane County strengths – our thriving arts community.”

The 2016 calendars cost $10.00 each (including sales tax) and are available at several retail locations, municipal halls, and the Cultural Affairs Office (Room 421, City-County Building, 210 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Madison).  See a full listing of vendors at

“Calendar purchases help support local artists and the Dane County Cultural Affairs Commission’s mission and programs,” said Director of Cultural Affairs Mark Fraire.  “Our agency, just like the calendars, was created with the purpose to encourage public participation in arts, culture, and local history countywide.”

The Shining Lights Artists

The 2016 Art Calendar features reproductions of fourteen works by talented Wisconsin artists. The list of the 2016 artists is as follows:

  1. Cover: Linda Koenig
  2. Title Page: Jean Lang
  3. January: Joan Konyn
  4. February: Peter Patau
  5. March: Nancy Macgregor
  6. April: Debra Lovelien
  7. May: John Ribble
  8. June:  Rebeca Israel
  9. July: Karen Watson-Newlin
  10. August: Linda Hancock
  11. September: Keith Skeen
  12. October: Kurt Westbrook
  13. November: Michael Knapstein
  14. December: Irene Olson


Calendar Cover Photo attached:  Evening on the Bay, watercolor, Linda Koenig.


Back to Press Releases